Seafood & Swinging in Ballard

So, last Sunday I made it to the Ballard SeafoodFest.  Oops, sorry – for PETA people, that’s the Ballard SeaKittenFest! Gasp!  Children were playing in the mouth of this Sea Kitten!

IMG_4375 (2)

Oh, well.  Too each their own, and with my health problems, I can’t handle any of the veggie/vegan protein sources, so sea kitten it is!  Ballard is another Seattle working class neighborhood that hasn’t totally been gentrified out of existence. 

I went to the rally for Iran last Saturday, so missed El Vez and The Squirrels, and heard both were great from friends who went.  I got to the Seafoodfest Sunday though, in time to catch some country music.

IMG_4400

First up was Zoe Muth and The Lost High Rollers. Great songwriting and voice, and straight forward country.

Here’s Zoe singing Middle of Nowhere at the Highway 99 Blues Club in Seattle.

After Zoe’s set, I wandered around some.  Checked out the store windows and sidewalk sales.  I was really tempted by this one.

IMG_4430 (2)

It was made in China, though.  I know.  It’s hard to avoid these days.  Still, a t-shirt with a local design, even if it’s not fair trade, couldn’t they at least have them made in the U.S.?  Actually, the fact that it was thin for a sweatshirt was only a good selling point on an unusually hot July day, too.

On my budget, it’s good when I can talk myself out of spending money.  I did spring for a salmon burger.  Maybe next year I can afford the salmon dinner.

As usual at these neighborhood festivals, music was in the streets as well as on the stages.

IMG_4442 (2)

I ended up back at the main stage in time for Wylie & The Wild West. Ya-hoo!  Literally.  More on that in a moment.

IMG_4470

Wylie had almost as many moves as Mark Arm with Mudhoney over in West Seattle. Wylie and his band got folks up and dancing too.

IMG_4491

Wylie is straight out country, too, with a bit of cowboy yodeling and some Rolling Stones thrown in. In fact, Wylie is the famous Yahoo! yodeler (back before they started turning over dissidents to the Chinese government).

Here’s Wylie at the Tractor Tavern in Ballard with a song about his claim to fame with Yaaa hooo!

Don’t say I didn’t warn you about him slipping in some Stones!

IMG_4553 (2)

I had a lot of fun, and as usual, took way too many pictures. 

Ballard Seafoodfest photoset up at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/javacolleen/sets/72157621879924810/

Zoe Muth & The Lost High Rollers: http://www.myspace.com/zoemuth

Wylie and The Wild West: http://wyliewebsite.com/

Leave a Reply

