Getting Our Goats in the U District

So, there’s a new P-Patch community garden coming to our neighborhood – in the vacant lot filled with brush and hidden trash for years on University Way between the Vagrant Records’ recording studio and the apartment building on 56th

IMG_4711

All that brush has always seemed like a potential hazard, especially when the apartment building had a serious fire a few years back.  I could see a busted up computer monitor through the fence when I walked by and used to wonder what else was there.  It turns out crates, a vacuum cleaner, a shopping cart and a lot of other junk. 

Once that’s all out, they have to clear out the brush.  To my delight, this sign appeared one day:

IMG_4713

Yes!  There’s going to be some new kids on the block!  The goats are coming to clear the brush!

I don’t know why it tickles me so much.  I first saw goats nibbling their way though the weeds and brush above Ghiradelli Square in San Francisco when I was visiting for an Amnesty International conference four years ago.

DSCF0011

I saw them from the cable car, and when I went up the hill to check them out, they were grazing up a storm. 

I know we have some here, too.  Maybe we’ll get the crew from Vashon Island’s Rent a Ruminant! Got to love that name!

Here’s some goats going to town above the freeway downtown (music by Today):

I know it’s crazy.  It just makes me happy we’ll have a herd of goats grazing and clearing out brush just up the street.  Then people living in apartments will get to plant their own gardens. It’s win, win all around!

Leave a Reply

