Dusty 45s Therapy and the Limits of Instagram

Some things don’t change! So, I took a break from some weighty human rights issues I’ve become concerned with last Friday night to catch The Dusty 45s in Ballard. Well, some things changed – a new upright bass player (at least new from the last time I blogged) and the weekend’s shows were in at Conor Byrnes, not The Tractor Tavern across the street. Which gave me an excuse for an Irish Coffee (minus the cream these days), which was very tasty.

So, I went Friday night, because it’s easier with my work schedule, and I wasn’t sure I was up for the insanity of a Halloween night on a Saturday. Opening that night were The Dee Dees, an all woman Ramones cover band. They were good, and loud (and my Instagram doesn’t do them justice).

The Dee Dees – all woman Ramones tribute band opening for The Dusty 45s at Conor Byrnes

A post shared by Colleen Roman (@java_colleen) on

Yeah, I’m going to have to bring my real camera if I want to start posting photos and video from shows. One of several things cell phone cameras aren’t so good at, though there’s a lot to be said for the immediacy of things they do take decent pictures and video of.

Luckily, someone did take video their next night’s show, where the skeleton crew played one of my favorite Halloween themed songs by them (which I heard on Friday night as well.

I did get an Instagram of the obligatory flaming trumpet finale!

Trumpet in flames! The Dusty 45s finale

A post shared by Colleen Roman (@java_colleen) on

Of course they came back to play a few more, including a cover of Folsom Prison (where they shot a man in Kirkland, just to watch him die).

And back out into the street to catch my bus as I had to be at work the next morning. It had been just a little chilly when I left. I pulled up my hood and got to put my new fall jacket to the test (which it fortunately passed). Yes, what’s a Dusty 45s concert in Ballard in the fall, without rain for atmosphere!

Thanks to Instagram, I get to share that this time:

I've seen fire, I've seen rain…

A post shared by Colleen Roman (@java_colleen) on

Leave a Reply

